Leonard Hülsmann

Overvoltage in distribution grids - an idea for a solution

Discussion created by Leonard Hülsmann Partner on 22-Nov-2016
Latest reply on 24-Nov-2016 by Leonard Hülsmann

Hi people,

I did my Master thesis on overvoltages in distribution grids, caused by photovoltaic generators (and sometimes also wind turbines installed in the MV grid). With increasing PV penetration this becomes more and more of an issue and therefore a number of possible remedies exist. I will describe the problem more in detail below for the people who are not familiar with the topic. The thing is, all the proposed solutions so far have different drawbacks and neither seems perfectly suited. Throughout my Master thesis (that is finished since a few months) I had an idea on a different way to solve the problem and I would like to create a discussion to hear what input you have. Perhaps we can gather some information to figure out if my solution is technically possible and if any studies have been carried out on that issue. Or who knows, maybe somebody can use this as a research topic for a thesis or a PhD?

Anyway, let's step right in. It will take some time to explain the problem and the way how to solve it but if you are familiar with it you can maybe skip over it or skim through it. I hope I will find some interested people! :-)

-----------------------------------------

The problem:

Load in the distribution grid lowers the voltage, while generation increases it. The allowable voltage range is 90%-110% of nominal value (often 400V in most European countries). With ever increasing PV penetration the generation during peak time (noon, summer, clear sky) is already in some grids much higher than the peak demand, e.g. in my thesis often about 2x as high.

The two most important issues that arise with that are:

• overvoltage, as the grid must be operated below 110% nominal U
  • the thermal limit of cables and/or transformer is reached

The existing solutions: