Amrita Dasgupta
Energy Analyst and Modeller at IEA
RENE - 2017 intake
LinkedIn Amrita

In the latest catch-up with EIT InnoEnergy alumni, we speak with Amrita Dasgupta, whose work at the International Energy Agency is helping to plot the future course of the energy transition. 

What was the main learning you took from your studies?
In a two-year programme that took me to five cities in five countries where I learnt completely different things, it's not very easy to pick just one learning. However, I can say that I graduated with a much deeper understanding about climate change and a strong appreciation for the magnitude and urgency of action needed to mobilise all the tools we currently have in order to fight it. Moreover, being quite an introvert albeit one who is good with words on paper, I must say that the programme helped me immensely in finding my voice and becoming more confident to make myself heard. At the end of my two years of MSc RENE, I also gained something just as valuable as my degrees and that was a group of brilliant friends and mentors to whom I owe so much of my knowledge and the most memorable experiences.

What was your first thought when you graduated? Did you feel prepared or daunted by going into the "real world"?